News archive‎ > ‎

A new Smash Bros. challenger will be unveiled on Monday

posted 11 Jul 2014, 06:52 by Subik Khawaja   [ updated 11 Jul 2014, 06:53 ]

Masahiro Sakurai, the director of Super Smash Bros. for 3DS and Wii U, has taken us by surprise with an announcement that a new challenger will be revealed this Monday. Instead of unveiling the character in something like a Nintendo Direct, Nintendo has opted to livestream the 3-minute reveal on the official Super Smash Bros. website at the following times: 

North America: Monday 14th July at 07:00 (PDT)
UK: Monday 14th July at 15:00 (BST)
AUS: Tuesday 15th July at 00:00 (AEST)

Sakurai also says that the team is nearing the bottom of the stash of the new challenger videos that they've made. Since Nintendo is keeping this announcement separate from a Nintendo Direct, could this mean the reveal is bigger than some of us might expect?